top of page
  • Writer's pictureCareers Team

Alum Interview: Madison Barnes

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Madison Barnes - Duke undergraduate and Nicholas School of the Environment graduate; Currently working for Disney


What do you recommend Duke students should do to learn more about careers in sustainability?


Try to get involved in environmental organizations both in school, in your community, and in the industries you are interested in. There are multiple clubs on Duke’s campus that have environmental focuses, as well as jobs and opportunities to research. There are industry resources you can investigate further to learn more about what may particularly interest you and how to get the relevant skills. For example, GreenBiz and Sustainable Brands are media companies that regularly produce sustainability-related content. You can also complete relevant trainings that relate to your interests, such as LEED GA, GRI, Greenhouse Gas Protocol Corporate Standards, SASB, etc.


Was your major related to sustainability in any way?


My major was Environmental Science and my minor was in economics. If I had had enough time, I would have completed the sustainability certificate (but it started my junior year). For my major, I had to create a concentration, and I focused on Energy and Economics. I was able to take courses that looked at the impact of environmental decisions beyond the classroom. As part of my major, I completed a Senior Thesis that involved spending a summer in Peru and installing wind turbines in local communities. I completed a project figuring out how to produce the turbines in a more environmentally friendly manner. I was also able to get a course approved for study abroad one of the summers where I studied sustainable cities in Europe (traveling to Sweden, Denmark, Germany, and Switzerland).


What was your career path? How did you get where you are today?


I decided in my Junior year that I wanted to go to grad school, so I applied to the Nicholas School Masters of Environmental Management program. I completed the 3-2 program, where I skipped my senior year and started the first year of my masters program instead. I was in the Business and Environment program that prepares students for careers in corporate sustainability, environmental consulting, and environmental financing. I knew that I wanted to do corporate sustainability as a result of internships from previous summers. After my freshmen summer I took part in a Stanback internship (where the Stanback funded internships in local nonprofits) at an energy nonprofit. The following summer I received internship funding from the Duke internship funding program to work on renewable energy in the South East. The entire time I went to Duke (undergrad and grad) I worked in one capacity or another for the Sustainable Duke office on campus. During my summer in between my two years of grad school, I interned at United Airlines. In my grad program, I was also able to take part in some client projects where I worked with companies for course credit.


What resources did you use to get into contact with your first sustainability employers?


I used the Stanback program to get connected with my first internship. I have gotten connected with other positions (unpaid) by reaching out to people directly and working funding out on my own through Bass Connections, Duke Engage, Duke Internship Funding, etc. My other positions I found by applying out-right on LinkedIn.


What do you hope to accomplish going forward when it comes to a career in sustainability?


I hope one day to transition more into the strategy and policy setting role within a company. I think this would allow me to have a larger impact by allowing me to help set the direction the company is going in and what are overall corporate goals.


How is you career related to sustainability? What are your responsibilities?


At Disney I sit within the Enterprise Social Responsibility division working on the Environmental Sustainability team. I am in an analyst role. I support other team members by doing data analysist, data visualization, research, and benchmarking to help guide decisions and expand efforts. I am involved in efforts to procure renewable energy for the company and enhance sustainable design (construction and building design). I am also taking a lead on initiatives for sustainable travel, both for business travel and for travel that takes place as part of our business offerings (vacation packages, etc).

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alum Interview: Kelly Jones

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Kelly Jones - Duke undergraduate and Nicholas School graduate; Double...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page