top of page
  • Writer's pictureCareers Team

Alum Interview: Kelly Jones

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Kelly Jones - Duke undergraduate and Nicholas School graduate; Double major in Environmental Science & Policy and Psychology; Currently working the Planet Blue Ambassador Program Coordinator at the University of Michigan's Graham Sustainability Institute.

What do you recommend Duke students should do to learn more about careers in sustainability?


Reach out to professionals and carry out informational interviews to learn about their specific roles (often it's less awkward if you can say you are writing them up for a class project or group blog). Summer internships are also a great way to learn about different work environments, and research opportunities can serve as a side benefit to educate students about different organizations and careers. In graduate school, masters projects that involve working with a client, and are a great way to learn about a company. Volunteering is also an option, if you have time and can afford it!

Was your major related to sustainability in any way?


Yes. I double majored in environmental science and policy and psychology. I think both are incredibly related to sustainability.

What was your career path? How did you get where you are today?


While I was an undergraduate, I dedicated a lot of my time to Project WILD (an orientation backpacking program) and outdoor education. I worked at the campus rock climbing wall, at the outdoor rental gear shop on campus, and taught at a remote summer camp in Pennsylvania. Because of my relatively low-income status, I was not able to take any unpaid internships or do a lot of unpaid volunteering, so that made it relatively difficult to transition into the sustainability space. My first real sustainability experience was in graduate school when I got a chance to work for Tavey Capps researching Duke's Sustainability Strategic plan as a paid intern. I fell in love with university sustainability and knew I wanted to work in that space again. Directly after completing my Masters at Duke's Nicholas School, I applied for a plethora of positions. I ended up getting one with Environmental Defense Fund. It wasn't university sustainability, but it was with an organization with a mission I could get behind, so I figured I would take that and see what the NGO space was like. It was a great place to gain work experience and learn more about the breadth of sustainability issues facing the world. After a few years, I moved (with my husband because of his career path) and finally found a job at the University of Michigan. I've been here 2+ years and really enjoy getting to work on university sustainability with students again!


What resources did you use to get into contact with your first sustainability employers?


I think I learned about Tavey because she was a master's project client. I learned about EDF from a couple of informational interviews I did, as well as a class project.

What do you hope to accomplish going forward when it comes to a career in sustainability?


I'd like to work more on establishing my relationships with others working on sustainability at other universities. I've made great contacts within the University of Michigan, but there is a lot I can learn from folks at other universities too.

How is your career related to sustainability? What are your responsibilities?


I manage a sustainability engagement program for students, staff, and faculty at the University of Michigan. I train people in sustainability basics (online and in-person), and help them identify ways they are most interested in getting involved in university sustainability. I keep the training up-to-date and engaging, provide popular continuing education events, tours, and workshops, provide a monthly newsletter to participants (we're up to 6,600 now), and continuously collaborate with sustainability staff across campus so I can keep my trainees informed. I also manage student interns and advise several sustainability student groups on campus. My program serves as a "hub" connecting interested folks to all of the sustainability "spokes" around campus.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alumni Interview: Daniel Herron

Did you always want to go into the field of sustainability? I have always been interested in sustainability and the environment, but I think I really started to consider a career in the sustainability

Alum Interview: Jamie Lockwood

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Jamie Lockwood - Trinity '19; Climate and Clean Energy Associate at Environment North Carolina What do you recommend Duke students shoul

Alum Interview: Anna Balas

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Anna Balas - Trinity '19; Sustainability Certificate holder; Currently working for Food Corps What do you recommend Duke students should

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page