top of page
  • Writer's pictureCareers Team

Student Interview: Abhinav Jain

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Abhinav Jain - Trinity '23; Student who has done a sustainability-related internship

What led to you being involved in a sustainability internship?


I grew up in one of the most polluted cities in the world, Ludhiana. My father owns a textile business and from a young age, I was exposed to the harmful effects of manufacturing businesses. This made me sure about my career in the environmental sector, specifically in technologies that could be used to reduce the footprint of businesses.


What resources did you use to get into contact with your first sustainability employers?


My father's business network.

How was your internship related to sustainability? What were your responsibilities?

My internship was at a start-up called "ProKlean Technologies" that makes probiotics to shorten manufacturing processes to reduce their environmental footprint while cutting costs and increasing efficiency.


Is your major/planned major related to sustainability in any way?

Yes, although I have not declared yet, I would like to do a Program-2 in Economics, Environmental Science and Biology with the tentative question "How to introduce and scale environmental biotechnology in less-economically developed countries.

What do you recommend students should do to learn more about careers in sustainability?

The amount of money in the sector. Most people think careers in sustainability mean NGOs or low-paying positions but that's not the case. There's a lot more there that students should be exposed to so that they can pivot towards careers in sustainability. If not a fully-immersed career in sustainability, students should definitely learn about the avenues of introducing sustainability in their respective disciplines/future careers. E.g - Investing in Environmental Tech if a student is going into Finance.

What do you hope to accomplish going forward when it comes to a career in sustainability?

Running my own business that provides solutions to businesses to reduce their footprint/produces remediation technologies.


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Interview: Gaurav Uppal

An interview with Gaurav Uppal- Pratt School of Engineering, C/O 2020 What led to you being involved in a sustainability internship? One of the reasons I chose Duke for engineering was the internation

Student Interview: Nimisha Pant

An interview with Nimisha Pant- Pratt School of Engineering, C/O 2021 What led to you being involved in a sustainability internship? I became an engineer because solving problems and seeing my solutio

Student Interview: Kayana Tyson

An interview with Kayana Tyson - Pratt School of Engineering, C/O 2022 What are you studying? I am studying environmental engineering. Do you hope to pursue a career in sustainability in the future? I

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page