top of page
  • Writer's pictureCareers Team

Alumni Interview: Daniel Herron

Did you always want to go into the field of sustainability?

I have always been interested in sustainability and the environment, but I think I really started to consider a career in the sustainability field after taking CE160 (Intro to Env. Engineering and Science) during the fall of my sophomore year with professor David Schaad.


Why are you interested in a career in sustainability?

I am interested in a career sustainability because I believe it provides a unique opportunity to combat Climate Change


What do you recommend to students to do to learn more about careers in sustainability?

I would recommend the following sites:

The Climate.Careers website is a great resource for job postings in the sustainability space

Climatescape.org provides a useful industry mapping of companies working on sustainability-related issues; Recommend reaching out to any companies you find particularly interesting

There are also a couple of great podcasts that I think provide a lot of useful information and insightful interviews with folks working on sustainability issues:

My Climate Journey (https://www.myclimatejourney.co/)


What was your career path? How did you get where you are today?

I completed a Master's program in Civil and Environmental Engineering at UC Berkeley

Since graduating, I have worked for PowerAdvocate as a consultant in the energy industry


Was your major related to sustainability in any way?

My major, Civil and Environmental Engineering, was directly related to sustainability


What resources did you use to get into contact with your first sustainability employers?

I found my first job in sustainability through my graduate school's career website

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alum Interview: Kelly Jones

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Kelly Jones - Duke undergraduate and Nicholas School graduate; Double major in Environmental Science & Policy and Psychology; Currently w

Alum Interview: Jamie Lockwood

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Jamie Lockwood - Trinity '19; Climate and Clean Energy Associate at Environment North Carolina What do you recommend Duke students shoul

Alum Interview: Anna Balas

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Anna Balas - Trinity '19; Sustainability Certificate holder; Currently working for Food Corps What do you recommend Duke students should

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page