top of page
  • Writer's pictureCareers Team

Student Interview: Nimisha Pant

Updated: Apr 23, 2020

An interview with Nimisha Pant- Pratt School of Engineering, C/O 2021

What led to you being involved in a sustainability internship?


I became an engineer because solving problems and seeing my solutions implemented in a way that improves the world motivates me and gives me a sense of purpose. I have always been fascinated by sustainability because although so much has been done in the field, there is still so much left unsolved that needs to be fixed soon. I believe one of the biggest challenges with sustainability is its implementation; perhaps a sustainable initiative takes too much time for people to pay attention to or a clean energy solution is too expensive for a company to use. I want to work on improving this implementation; both by making changes to what already exists and attempting to communicate the benefits of being sustainable and the necessity to act soon. I want to be able to make an impact with my work and making the world a more sustainable place is very important to me.


How is your career/internship related to sustainability? What are your responsibilities?


My internship involved working with WindAid, a non profit organization that manufactures and installs wind turbines in communities around Peru with no electricity. WindAid focuses not only on bringing sustainable energy to these communities to power lights in their houses, but also educates the community members about the importance of clean energy. WindAid even practices sustainability in their manufacturing processes, using recycled parts often and being diligent about reducing waste. My responsibilities included working with a larger team to manufacture the turbines, which involved forming molds to form the blades, using carbon fiber/ fiberglass to finish the blades, and sanding the blades to finish them. I also worked on a project with two other students where I automated a manual machine to wind copper coils, which are crucial to the performance of wind turbines.  


Was your major related to sustainability in any way?


My major is Mechanical Engineering, which is very useful and critical in clean energy. Mechanical engineers both design and manufacture, so they are very important in actually making clean energy solutions and physically applying them. 


What resources did you use to get into contact with your first sustainability employers?


I primarily spoke with Thomas Phillips, the DukeEngage Assistant Director for Programs. Thomas Phillips was able to direct me to the WindAid organization website, where I applied for the summer program. I later spoke with a student who had worked at WindAid the year prior and he put me in contact with the head of WindAid via WhatsApp. I was able to have some video calls with him to flesh out the details of the summer project. 


What do you recommend to students to do to learn more about careers in sustainability?


I would recommend checking out both group and independent DukeEngage projects, as these can often lead to more information interest in sustainability. I would also recommend contacting the career center and setting up an appointment with an advisor there to discuss opportunities. Many Pratt professors are also open and passionate about discussing sustainability opportunities. Reading the backgrounds of the companies coming to TechConnect or Career Fair and speaking with the representatives of companies/organizations involved in sustainability is also important.


What do you hope to accomplish going forward when it comes to a career in sustainability? 


In the long run, I hope to be either leading a company or be a part of a company pioneering clean energy, both conceptually and materially. I think there is so much potential in the field and so many more new ideas that have yet to be implemented. 

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Student Interview: Abhinav Jain

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Abhinav Jain - Trinity '23; Student who has done a sustainability-related internship What led to you being involved in a sustainability i

Student Interview: Gaurav Uppal

An interview with Gaurav Uppal- Pratt School of Engineering, C/O 2020 What led to you being involved in a sustainability internship? One of the reasons I chose Duke for engineering was the internation

Student Interview: Kayana Tyson

An interview with Kayana Tyson - Pratt School of Engineering, C/O 2022 What are you studying? I am studying environmental engineering. Do you hope to pursue a career in sustainability in the future? I

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page