top of page
  • Writer's pictureCareers Team

Alum Interview: Jamie Lockwood

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Jamie Lockwood - Trinity '19; Climate and Clean Energy Associate at Environment North Carolina


What do you recommend Duke students should do to learn more about careers in sustainability?


Doing research on your own is essential. Compared to my Duke classmates that went into finance careers, for example, I felt that there weren't as many Duke resources for me to learn about environmental careers, non-profits, or avenues for sustainability. I suggest reading articles about your interest area and researching the groups referenced in the article. What group is quoted about data? They might be a good starting point if you're interested in researching. What group is writing about sustainability in legislation? I would research them if you're interested in policy. The examples are endless. There are so many more groups working on environmental issues and sustainability than I was exposed to as an undergraduate.


Was your major related to sustainability in any way?


I was an Environmental Science and Policy major with a certificate in Sustainable Engagement. So yes, I would say it was related. My certificate focused much more on all three pillars of sustainability (economic, social, and environmental) while my major was more broadly about environmentalism whether it be conservation, or climate and clean energy.


What was your career path? How did you get where you are today?

I am still fresh out of college. I graduated from Duke in May of 2019, so I wouldn't say my career is much of a path-yet. I landed with Environment America out of college because I felt that their fellowship program would give me the most experience available to a 22-year-old in the shortest period of time. So far it has not disappointed. In 9 short months, I feel that I know how to do everything to run an environmental campaign in a non-profit. I run both social and traditional media outreach. I lobbied elected officials at the highest level. I have hit the ground with grassroots organizing, and I have organized powerful coalitions.


What resources did you use to get into contact with your first sustainability

employers?


Research, research, research. I think I finally found the job posting on indeed.com. But I suggest going on linked-in, searching for Duke alumni at companies your interested in and cold messaging them. Having a connection on the inside helps a lot. I also suggest casting a wide net. A "sustainability employer" might be a government organization, non-profit, or huge corporation with a sustainability department.


What do you hope to accomplish going forward when it comes to a career in

sustainability?


I am most interested in the political component of sustainability. I'd like to see more legislation guide society to a more sustainable future. I didn't know this was the realm I was most interested in until I was working in the "real world." In the future, I hope to be a political advisor or environmental lobbyist, helping to shape our nation's most forward thinking, sustainable legislation.


How is your career related to sustainability? What are your responsibilities?


I am currently a climate and clean energy associate for Environment North Carolina (the state affiliate to the aforementioned Environment America). My role is basically to use people power to influence North Carolina's delegation's response to climate change. I write opinion pieces to garner the support of the people, I run digital and street campaigns, release reports through tradition media sources, and lobby elected officials to do so. In the lens of sustainability--I am trying to get the government to mandate that we lay the groundwork for a more environmentally sustainable future, today.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alumni Interview: Daniel Herron

Did you always want to go into the field of sustainability? I have always been interested in sustainability and the environment, but I think I really started to consider a career in the sustainability

Alum Interview: Kelly Jones

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Kelly Jones - Duke undergraduate and Nicholas School graduate; Double major in Environmental Science & Policy and Psychology; Currently w

Alum Interview: Anna Balas

An inquiry into sustainability careers, from an interview with Anna Balas - Trinity '19; Sustainability Certificate holder; Currently working for Food Corps What do you recommend Duke students should

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page